Yes, that was the play (against Carolina). But it was a pretty obvious leg-whip by Long.I certainly remember a much less obvious tripping call on Jake Long that negated a long TD to, I believe, Tavon Austin.

Yes, that was the play (against Carolina). But it was a pretty obvious leg-whip by Long.I certainly remember a much less obvious tripping call on Jake Long that negated a long TD to, I believe, Tavon Austin.
I certainly remember a much less obvious tripping call on Jake Long that negated a long TD to, I believe, Tavon Austin.
Yes, that was the play (against Carolina). But it was a pretty obvious leg-whip by Long.
![]()
Yes, that was the play (against Carolina). But it was a pretty obvious leg-whip by Long.
![]()
It was. Jake knew it right after he did it. Doesn't matter though - what's done is done.I don't see how you can call that intentional. Or at least how the caption in the pic can.
It was. Jake knew it right after he did it. Doesn't matter though - what's done is done.
Someone falling and their leg flying up and hitting someone, I dont think that falls under the rule.
What caught your attention? The out-of-bounds play they missed on Harvin... where the REFS didn't review it... and the league actually admitted they were wrong?
Hard to tell, maybe it was.I'm likewise a little stymied by the rule book, so I can't say exactly what rule is being broken. Is there a section on illegal use of Kung Fu?
But if a player is just falling down their legs will stay mostly together unless they are trying to get a wider base for balance, in which case their feet will be SEEKING the ground rather than trying to get away from it. You can see from the photo (re-copied) that Fletcher used his left leg and both elbows (all of which appear to be on the ground) to force his right leg WAAAAAY up into the air, past the left side his body over to where Stacy's head was. I mean, how is it that not intentional??
![]()
First drive of the 3rd quarter, the Rams offense is really moving, having gone 37 yards in 5 plays. Zac Stacey takes a run up the middle but fumbles on what looks like very little contact. So what happened?
On the fumble, the Bucs Dane Fletcher blindly (and blatantly) leg whips Stacy in both the facemask and his hand causing the fumble. Not sure where this is in the rule book, but I'm pretty sure this is illegal, right?? The still photo doesn't quite do this justice. Watch the live action and see how Fletcher kicks his leg back at Stacy as he goes by.
View attachment 3149
http://www.nfl.com/gamecenter/2014091409/2014/REG2/rams@buccaneers#tab=videos&menu=gameinfo|contentId:0ap3000000394720
Not sure where the REFS were on the play. Surely someone would actually be watching the ball carrier. I mean, if they caught Jake Long on the phantom leg whip last year against Carolina (long TD pass to Austin called back), surely someone would be watching the guy carrying the football, and notice that THE LEG WHIP ACTUALLY CAUSED THE FUMBLE?!?
Geez Louise.
The play right before the Dunbar roughing the passer was a perfect (and blatant) example. See screen print below. It's better to see with live action so you can see how Quinn's progress is impeded (and I haven't figured out how to do that), but Quinn has a clear path to the QB, except that the OL has BOTH ARMS WRAPPED TOTALLY AROUND HIM FROM BEHIND like a toddler trying to stop his mom from leaving him at day care.
I could take screen prints of Quinn getting held all day long. It's really the ONLY issue with the Rams worth arguing about; it happens so often that it kinda makes sense to get in the REFS ears and asking them what it'll take for them to throw the flag on that. It goes without saying that they'd make that call against the RAMS OL.
View attachment 3152
Maybe because the Bucs WR didn't have the presence to get up and stand there.Brutal...
We weren't suppose to win that game.
http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2014/09/15/clock-was-handled-properly-at-end-of-rams-bucs-game/
Clock was handled properly at end of Rams-Bucs game
Posted by Mike Florio on September 15, 2014
AP![]()
The Buccaneers didn’t get an opportunity to try a game-winning field goal against the Rams on Sunday because of a 10-second runoff resulting from a player injury occurring when Tampa lacked time outs. The rule, aimed at avoiding the fabrication of offensive injuries in crunch time, ended the game following an injury to Bucs receiver Mike Evans, with the home team at the St. Louis 33.
As pointed out by the Big Lead, the play in question finished with 11 seconds on the clock. Since 11 minus 10 equals (hang on a second while I confirm this) equals one, the Bucs arguably should have had enough time to try a 50-yard field goal for the win.
Per a league source, that’s not how it works in real time. The clock continues to tick after the play ends, with the officials stopping the clock when it’s obvious a player is injured. In this case, the officials recognized that Evans was unable to get up with less than 10 seconds remaining.
If Evans had been clearly injured with more than 10 seconds left, the Bucs would have had one second left. He wasn’t, and that’s just the way it goes, given that any other rule would allow any player on offense to fake a broken arm in order to ensure that his team will get more opportunities.
The play right before the Dunbar roughing the passer was a perfect (and blatant) example. See screen print below. It's better to see with live action so you can see how Quinn's progress is impeded (and I haven't figured out how to do that), but Quinn has a clear path to the QB, except that the OL has BOTH ARMS WRAPPED TOTALLY AROUND HIM FROM BEHIND like a toddler trying to stop his mom from leaving him at day care.
I could take screen prints of Quinn getting held all day long. It's really the ONLY issue with the Rams worth arguing about; it happens so often that it kinda makes sense to get in the REFS ears and asking them what it'll take for them to throw the flag on that. It goes without saying that they'd make that call against the RAMS OL.
View attachment 3152