That clock stoppage at the end...

  • To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.
Here's the NFL rule for how you can declare yourself down without be contacted by a defensive player or stepping out of bounds...

View attachment 73340


I find it hard to believe that the receiver was actually down long enough for the zebra to consider the receiver DOWN by declaring himself down by clearly giving up and making no move to get up. That process needs to be clear... the ball carrier needs to lay on the ground for a couple of seconds at least before a ref could possibly see that he is clearly not going to make an attempt to advance the ball.

Yesterday, that Seadderall receiver caught the ball while he was going to the ground to catch it. He didn't catch it while standing up and then purposefully drop to the ground to make it clear that he was giving himself up on the play. Like I said, the receiver actually had to make a diving attempt just to catch the pass, so he was on the ground basically when he was in the process of catching the pass. The ref that granted the timeout was actually behind the receiver and did NOT HAVE any clear view as to whether or not the catch was actually made clearly... all he could see from his vantage point was the receiver's back, so that zebra had no way of declaring that a legal catch was made because he could NOT see the ball. In today's NFL, a receiver has to make the catch by having both feet or another body part down on the field of play before touching out od bounds. Then, the receiver has to make some kind of "football move" after that happens and hang on to the ball throughout the entire catch process before the zebra can declare that a successful reception was made. In this case, the zebra had no clear view of the ball... he could not have been able to declare the ball caught successfully if we're being honest. Much less could he have been able to do all of that in the tiny amount of time that he actually did it in yesterday.

That fakkuh (the zebra) declared the ball caught without being able to see the ball while watching the receiver go through the entire catch process, decide that the receiver was CLEARLY giving himself up, and then recognize the timeout request by the receiver in lass than a second. It was like 2 Top Gun fighter pilots maneuvering their jets perfectly while flying through the air without crashing. The level of coordination and timing between the ref who could not see the ball and the receiver diving to the ground in hopes of actually catching the ball was damn near instantaneous.

Go to the 12:23 mark to watch that play yourself. That ref did not have the ability to make the call he made of a completed catch all by himself... much less see that the catch was made and then being able to clearly see that the receiver was giving himself up on the play. That was bullshit.


View: https://youtu.be/S0yqdJlujsw?si=g1Jv-USel3MhhBxt


And just to throw something else out there about this. The receiver could not legally call a timeout until ball was actually declared dead by the zebra. This ref was trying to say all of that happened in basically less than a second of time. Here's the NFL rule for when a timeout can be legally called for by a coach or player.

View attachment 73343

1000013070.webp
 
I believe you stopped the video too soon. The receiver was sitting up, with his back turned, calling time-out, with no intention of advancing the ball. And, that was still with one second on the clock. Here's a screenshot showing that. I think that demonstrates the receive gave himself up. What do you think?

View attachment 73402
I think it demonstrates that the ref called for time out as soon as he caught it and the clock operator stopped the clock as soon as he caught it. I mean, how do you know when the clock was stopped if it is stopped at 1 and stays there?

I don't think there was any funny business. The Seahawks made sure a ref was near by the coach and the coach started calling time out probably before the catch was made and the ref reacted fast to accommodate the coach. We would want the same thing. Thank goodness the kick was missed.
Plus, can you imagine the talking heads if they didn't get the clock stopped. We wouldn't hear the end of it. So it worked out.
 
I think it demonstrates that the ref called for time out as soon as he caught it and the clock operator stopped the clock as soon as he caught it. I mean, how do you know when the clock was stopped if it is stopped at 1 and stays there?

I don't think there was any funny business. The Seahawks made sure a ref was near by the coach and the coach started calling time out probably before the catch was made and the ref reacted fast to accommodate the coach. We would want the same thing. Thank goodness the kick was missed.
Plus, can you imagine the talking heads if they didn't get the clock stopped. We wouldn't hear the end of it. So it worked out.
I'll also add that was one long "one second" left on the clock. It seems like the clock operator "prematurely" stopped the clock at one second, before the play finished and before the receiver called time-out. Game should have been over with no chance for field goal by the Hags.
 
In a world where play clocks "sometimes" wind down to basically -4 seconds before Delay of Game is called (ref's discretion), and balls are marked far short of the line to gain but not reversed by "expedited review" (ref's discretion) and then not reversed even when challenged because it's too close to call (ref's discretion), I think we should own the fact that the NFL owners want levers they can adjust to make the game as entertaining as possible or make some gambling money on the side. Maybe both?

Luckily the football has a funny shape and these athletes are super human and want to win so badly that it washes out the stench of this manipulation.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ground Chuck
I'll also add that was one long "one second" left on the clock. It seems like the clock operator "prematurely" stopped the clock at one second, before the play finished and before the receiver called time-out. Game should have been over with no chance for field goal by the Hags.
Probably, but the ref was already informed the player was giving himself up by the coach. So they new the intention of the receiver before the play. Im sure there was some antisipating by all the officials. I would want the same for my team.
 
I believe you stopped the video too soon. The receiver was sitting up, with his back turned, calling time-out, with no intention of advancing the ball. And, that was still with one second on the clock. Here's a screenshot showing that. I think that demonstrates the receive gave himself up. What do you think?

View attachment 73402
I believe they stopped the clock at :01 prior to this screenshot. While he clearly wanted a timeout - I don’t think he gave himself up as much as the low pass made him go to the ground. But alas…
 
I posted screen shot 2 pages back
He was down at 2 seconds
it was a good play and they got it off.
I dont know why people need to believe in conspiracies over the simplest things
You can see him motioning the time out here, and the refs arms waving
the ref was right in front of the coaches who were also calling TO
no clock manipulation, refs just doing their job
if the Rams pulled off the same play we'd be talking about how brilliant it was
View attachment 73399

Clearly The secret society of the nfl had a “slow clock” option installed just in case they needed to give the Seahawks an extra half second I guess

I believe you stopped the video too soon. The receiver was sitting up, with his back turned, calling time-out, with no intention of advancing the ball. And, that was still with one second on the clock. Here's a screenshot showing that. I think that demonstrates the receive gave himself up. What do you think?

View attachment 73402

I mean, how do you know when the clock was stopped if it is stopped at 1 and stays there?
Precisely. If only there was another clock on the screen that kept ticking, allowing us to see a timestamp of when the throw, catch, and fist indicator of league-required “giving up” motions allowed the officials to stop the clock.

Alas! There is such a running clock right before our eyes!

It began as a 4-second difference as you see. And by the time the timeout is signalled the differential is 3 seconds, and first defender contact at 2 seconds. The clock operator had stopped the clock in anticipation of the player/team actions. Depending on how you look at it 1-2 seconds passed and the clock should have read ZERO

The game is played with actions, not intentions.

IMG_5001.webp
IMG_5002.webp
IMG_5003.webp
IMG_5007.webp
 
  • High Five
Reactions: Karate61
I believe they stopped the clock at :01 prior to this screenshot. While he clearly wanted a timeout - I don’t think he gave himself up as much as the low pass made him go to the ground. But alas…
Yeah, I agree. I think they stopped the clock prematurely and time should have ran out before the time-out could even have been called for. I think the clock operator blew it!
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamDino and SWAdude
Precisely. If only there was another clock on the screen that kept ticking, allowing us to see a timestamp of when the throw, catch, and fist indicator of league-required “giving up” motions allowed the officials to stop the clock.

Alas! There is such a running clock right before our eyes!

It began as a 4-second difference as you see. And by the time the timeout is signalled the differential is 3 seconds, and first defender contact at 2 seconds. The clock operator had stopped the clock in anticipation of the player/team actions. Depending on how you look at it 1-2 seconds passed and the clock should have read ZERO

The game is played with actions, not intentions.

View attachment 73413View attachment 73414View attachment 73415View attachment 73416
Great breakdown on this. Sure looks like the catch "should have" happened with no time left on the clock, and the time-out therefore was late after the game ended. But, that's reality; not the "officials reality". Officiating, once again, was so awful throughout this whole game.
 
Probably, but the ref was already informed the player was giving himself up by the coach. So they new the intention of the receiver before the play. Im sure there was some antisipating by all the officials. I would want the same for my team.
This would have required the coordination of exactly how the play was going to turn out. Crystal ball kind of stuff.

Many bad calls in this game and this single one could have caused another outcome.

That is why it is so important.
 
I believe you stopped the video too soon. The receiver was sitting up, with his back turned, calling time-out, with no intention of advancing the ball. And, that was still with one second on the clock. Here's a screenshot showing that. I think that demonstrates the receive gave himself up. What do you think?

View attachment 73402
Thats because the clock operator stopped the clock before he even did this