With Todd Gurley in peak form, Rams will likely pass on running backs in the draft

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

den-the-coach

Fifty-four Forty or Fight
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Name
Dennis
With Todd Gurley in peak form, Rams will likely pass on running backs in the draft

As the Rams prepare for the NFL draft, the Los Angeles Times will examine their roster. Part 8 of 8: running backs.

The reigning NFL offensive player of the year earned some downtime after one of the most productive seasons by a running back in Rams history.

So Todd Gurley enjoyed himself this offseason.

He went skiing for the first time.

"I had to get up out of there after like two days, because you know that after the third day I would've thought I'm a professional skier," he said this week, laughing.

Attending Wrestlemania also ranked among the highlights.

"My first experience there," he said, "and I really enjoyed that a lot."

The Rams and Gurley are mutually aware that another tussle of sorts could be on the horizon.

Gurley is preparing for his fourth NFL season. The Rams are expected to exercise their fifth-year option on the No. 10 pick in the 2015 draft, but general manager Les Snead has said that Gurley, quarterback Jared Goff and defensive tackle Aaron Donald are among a "core" of players the Rams want to extend and build around.

In regard to Gurley's contract — he will make about $4.4 million this season — he said that he tries "not to worry about that too much" and that he would continue to "keep doing what I'm doing."

"The rest will take care of itself," he said.