Jackson wants to retire as a Ram

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

-X-

Medium-sized Lebowski
Name
The Dude
Ron Clements
<a class="postlink" href="http://ronclements.blogspot.com/2011/12/jackson-wants-to-retire-as-ram.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ronclements.blogspot.com/2011/12 ... s-ram.html</a>

Ever had that job you liked, but the success you crave just doesn’t happen?

I know exactly how that feels. I get to watch sports for a living, but the monetary compensation I receive doesn’t make me feel successful.

St. Louis Rams running back Steven Jackson knows this feeling, too. But his issue isn’t with money – he’s got plenty of that – it’s with wins and losses.

Since Jackson was selected in the first round of the 2004 NFL draft as the heir apparent to now-Hall-of-Famer Marshall Faulk, the Rams have had one of the worst stretches in franchise history.

Jackson has never been part of a winning team – the Rams were 8-8 in 2004 and 2006 – and their overall record in his eight seasons is a paltry 38-89 with only one playoff appearance in 2004. He admitted Thursday that “three or four years ago,” he felt sorry for himself and wondered why he was stuck on a losing team. He has since matured into a leader and been selected for the Pro Bowl three times.

“At this point now I think it’s clear that my legacy will be defined by me having dealt with these hard situations and watching me grow and understanding that now I have become a pillar of strength more so than just a running back,” he said. “It’s hard to be a great running back when you have guys like Marshall and Eric Dickerson that were in this franchise. My legacy will be defined by the things that I have overcome and the adversity.”