Entry level DSLR discussion

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

TXRams86

The Infamous
so, if you've read my "getting married" thread, i've mentioned that the fiancee and I have been planning a trip for our daughters. well, with the trip only being a month away, we've tossed around the idea of getting a DSLR to capture the trip. for those curious, we're taking our 8 and 9 year old daughters to Disneyland in California.

this will be our daughters' first time to Disneyland, first time to California and first time seeing a beach so we want to make it memorable. we DO have a pretty decent point-and-shoot digital camera but i've always been intrigued with SLR's and their photo quality. not that i'm a complete expert on the matter but i do like to dabble with taking photos, editing and printing.

the thing is, i'm a complete noob when it comes to DSLR's. with the budget i'm considering (<$500), it seems that the two contenders are the Canon Rebel T5 and the Nikon D3200. after doing some reading up on the two, the Nikon seems to be the better of the two but does carry a slightly larger price tag. both of them seem to get the job done but "experts" claim that the lenses they come with are average at best. so, ROD experts, what are your opinions? get either the T5 or D3200 bundles? get only the camera body and get a decent lens? ditch the idea altogether and use the point and shoot?

lets hear it!

Ramhusker

Rams On Demand Sponsor
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Name
Bo Bowen