Any photographers in here?

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

Mister Sin

Your friendly neighborhood fat guy!
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Name
Tim
My boss has put me in charge of finding out some info on a good camera...he is buying his lady friend a camera for Christmas. Wants the best bang for his buck...not just a name. He is looking to spend under $1,000. Any help would be awesome...also, he said something that’s well rounded, she shoots mostly stills but still likes the occasional video and likes little features.

cvramsfan

Rams On Demand Sponsor
Rams On Demand Sponsor
Check out the Sony SLR one. My daughter loves hers, its a A6000 and a couple years old.

IBruce80

Tokyo Ram
This sort of questions always opens big debates.

I'm a hobbyist and have done a little bit of freelance work in the past.

I use Pentax cameras and have done since the film days.
When you invest in a camera, you have to imagine that you may well be investing in a system. The lenses are where the money is.

All of the major brands have good cameras.
Look into the ergonomics of the camera body and the menu system.
Most brands offer similar features at their respective price points.

Like i said, i use Pentax. I have used Canon before that, but changed to Pentax.

I recommend the Pentax KP.
It can be found under 900USD on Amazon.

You then have to decide on a lens.
That is the really hard part.

shaunpinney

Hall of Fame