The Predictability of the Offense

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

brokeu91

The super shrink
Name
Michael
One of the things that I found so maddening about our offense this year is just how predictable it is. Here's an example:

I have no experience with coaching a football team/scheming. But Thursday night (heck all season long), I pretty much knew if the play would be pass or a run. I was right more than 80% of the time. In addition, if it was a pass I knew if it would be a screen or designed pass to the flat before the play even began.

This is terrible. In no way, shape, or form should I be able to predict the type of play that will be run. I do NOT have enough experience in football to be able to do this, yet I could, with pretty darn good accuracy. This is, in my estimation, part of the reason this offense is so bad. We do not attack and everything that we run could be predicted way beforehand.

I remember last year this was not the case. I could predict it somewhat, but not nearly the rate I do now. I don't know what the happened.

Edit note:
It still seems way to hard to score with this team. Even when they drive down the field it feels like they got lucky doing it. I know it's not easy to score in the NFL, but sometimes it just seems like a team can't do it, if you know what I mean. This has been the case for the past five or more years.

12intheBox

Legend
Name
Wil Fay
Completely with you on this. I, too, had no trouble at all predicting what we were going to do on most plays. I have forced myself to rewatch the game 2x (which has been really hard to do this week).

Do we ever actually audible? It seems like we are making no adjustments out there whatsoever based on what the D is showing.