Rams Scout's Tales: Ray Agnew

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

RamBill

Legend
Scout's Tales: Ray Agnew

Posted Apr 24, 2015
By StLouisRams.com

View: http://www.stlouisrams.com/news-and-events/article-1/Scouts-Tales-Ray-Agnew/013de9f5-d5d3-49e7-a91e-3be0ec493b5b

There are numerous ways NFL teams acquire players, and the Rams’ scouting staff is always hard at work trying to find the next guy who can help them win. In Scout’s Tales, we’ll visit with members of Les Snead’s personnel department and they’ll share stories of how the process brought certain current Rams to St. Louis.

Ray Agnew on advancing.

I feel very fortunate to do what I do for a living. What happened to me doesn’t happen to a lot of people. I retired as a player and the next day I started working for the organization. I never left. I have Mike Martz to thank for that because he thought enough of me to offer me a job. I’m also grateful for Les Snead and the others who have continued to allow me to have a job that I love.

I think my background as a player helps me do my job. You don’t have to be a former player to be a successful scout, but there are certain things you can pick up on. “Hey, this guy doesn’t look too healthy. He’s playing, but it seems like something’s not right.” Or you can tell if a guy doesn’t know what he’s doing. Maybe there’s something you can pick up scheme wise - things that you did when you were a player and you recognize that a guy you’re watching may not be doing it right.