Loose change: Rams sorting through nickel options/PD

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

RamBill

Legend
Loose change: Rams sorting through nickel options
• By Jim Thomas

http://www.stltoday.com/sports/foot...cle_4c041222-eae3-5d50-a03c-c94a7be5ec96.html

The Rams like what they have in Janoris Jenkins and Trumaine Johnson as their starting corners, but who will play the important nickel back position now that Cortland Finnegan is gone?

A safety by trade, Rodney McLeod played a lot of nickel while Finnegan was injured in 2013, and did a decent job. But there are several interesting candidates in this year's draft who could fill the bill as well, including Virginia Tech's Kyle Fuller, Florida State's Lamarcus Joyner, and TCU's Jason Verrett.

Fuller projects as a mid-to-late first-round pick and could be the third corner taken in next week's draft. Verrett looks like a late first_ to early second-rounder, with Joyner probably going in the second.

Verrett and Fuller both made "top 30" pre-draft visits to Rams Park; it's not known if Joyner did.

Even though he's only 5-8, 184 pounds, Joyner played safety his sophomore and junior years before switching over to cornerback last season for the Seminoles' national championship squad. As part of those cornerback duties Joyner played nickel back, covering slot receivers, for the first time.

"I played it like 75 percent of the time due to the fact that everyone goes spread," Joyner said. "And we ran a lot of pressures at FSU and I was able to blitz and disrupt the quarterback."

As a result of that versatility, Joyner has gotten a lot of questions during the pre-draft process about where he would be comfortable playing in the NFL: free safety, corner, or nickel.