Good news for neurotics - You may be a creative genius

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

Prime Time

PT
Name
Peter
My wife says I'm a bit neurotic but while I'm a decent song writer and musician, I'm not a creative genius. So I get the neurotic tendencies without the side benefit of genius. :(
********************************************************************************
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/s...be-creative-geniuses-study-says-10475455.html

Moody neurotics are more likely to be creative geniuses, study says
JOHN VON RADOWITZ
It could explain why so many original thinkers suffered for their art

Woody-Allen-Getty.jpg

If you are a tense and moody neurotic, take heart – you could also be a creative genius, as a new study backs up the belief that neurotic misery and imagination go hand in hand.

It could explain why so many original thinkers, such as the famously neurotic artist Vincent van Gogh, the film-maker Woody Allen or scientist Sir Isaac Newton, suffered for their art. What such individuals have in common is a brain more sensitive to perceived threats than those of other people. And that “panic button” tendency is closely linked to an overactive, threat-generating imagination, say psychologists.

The personality expert Dr Adam Perkins, from King’s College London, said: “We’re still a long way off from fully explaining neuroticism ... but we hope our new theory will help people make sense of their own experiences, and show that although being highly neurotic is by definition unpleasant, it also has creative benefits.

“Hopefully our theory will also stimulate new research as it provides us with a straightforward unifying framework to tie together the creative aspects of neuroticism with its emotional aspects.”