Chris Long: "We have an identity now."

• To unlock all of features of Rams On Demand please take a brief moment to register. Registering is not only quick and easy, it also allows you access to additional features such as live chat, private messaging, and a host of other apps exclusive to Rams On Demand.

-X-

Medium-sized Lebowski
Name
The Dude
About time too. I've been banging that drum for about 5 years now ... wanting the Rams to be 'known' for something other than inept football.

Nathan Grimm (@Nate_Grimm)
http://stlouis.cbslocal.com/2012/10/06/ ... y-in-2012/

[wrapimg=left]http://cbsstlouis.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/slp20121004031.jpg?w=300[/wrapimg]During the St. Louis Rams heyday in the late 1990s and early 2000s, their calling card was an offense that could move the ball and score points with ease. Nicknamed “The Greatest Show on Turf,” players like Kurt Warner, Isaac Bruce, Torry Holt and Marshall Faulk were the faces of those winning Rams teams.

Nobody will mistake this year’s Rams team for those high-powered scoring machines. Conversely, if this year’s team enjoys any noteworthy success it will be on the strength of a defense earning a reputation of being as stingy as its head coach.

Through five games, the Rams are in the top half of the league in many of the defensive categories. The 19.2 points per game allowed is 8th in the NFL and may go up after Sunday’s games are completed. Their eight interceptions through four games ranked 2nd to only the Chicago Bears. And after their nine-sack performance on Thursday night, their 15 are third-most in the league.

DE Chris Long, one of the six Rams defenders to get to Arizona QB Kevin Kolb Thursday, said this year’s defense is a far cry from some of the units of years past.